Rue Morgue! at QTR! Art journal page!

It’s A Story! I was sitting in my craft room looking at my Art Journal page, and thinking about if I was done or not, and my mother’s voice pops in my head “It’s a story” that is what she told me yesterday. I was telling her about my page, on how there is symbolization of the text, with the stamping. While doing so I said the word “Poem” and before I could blink, she says “It’s A Story!”

I want to play  Quoth the Raven’s challenge  ” MURDERS IN THE RUE MORGUE”

If you would like to read the story click here!

168 years ago today, Edgar Allen Poe’s story, The Murders in the Rue Morgue, first appeared in Graham’s Magazine. Generally considered to be the first detective story, it focuses on the extraordinary analytical skills demonstrated by Monsieur C. Auguste Dupin, the detective who solves the mysterious brutal murder of two women in Paris.

Despite numerous witnesses overhearing the suspect, no one can agree on what language was spoken. At the murder scene, Dupin finds a hair that does not appear to be human…

Over at Smeared and Smudged, Madeleine Bouquet does a weekly prompt and week 20 was “Paint it!”  She said just add paint to it and go up from there, ground up! I painted my back ground with craft paint. The blood splatter and the chicken  wire rubber stamp is  by Tim  Holtz, from Simon say stamp. (No stores around here have any thing that cool.) One was painted with red craft paint. And the chicken wire stamp, Was stamped in Cajion Craze ink. I used “Washi” tape from The Scrapbook.com on my images and words. For some added fun! The image in the right hand corner is a digi called “Death bed” by Ike’s Art. The criss cross stamp, the wings, and Poe, is from the rubber stamp set, Quoth the Raven from Smeared Ink.  I stamped Poe and the wings in Timber Brown by Stazon. I also used Aleene’s Collage Podge on him. I used a back ground stencil from Dylusions  with white craft paint. I Tulip puffy painted the words and 2 images and “Washi” tape. This is how the first paragraph reads:

“EXTRAORDINARY MURDERS. – This morning, about three o’clock, the inhabitants of the Quartier St. Roch were aroused from sleep by a succession of terrific shrieks, issuing, apparently, from the fourth story of a house in the Rue Morgue, known to be in the sole occupancy of one Madame L’Espanaye, and her daughter Mademoiselle Camille L’Espanaye. After some delay, occasioned by a fruitless attempt to procure admission in the usual manner, the gateway was broken in with a crowbar, and eight or ten of the neighbors entered accompanied by two gendarmes. By this time the cries had ceased; but, as the party rushed up the first flight of stairs, two or more rough voices in angry contention were distinguished and seemed to proceed from the upper part of the house. As the second landing was reached, these sounds, also, had ceased and everything remained perfectly quiet. The party spread themselves and hurried from room to room. Upon arriving at a large back chamber in the fourth story, (the door of which, being found locked, with the key inside, was forced open,) a spectacle presented itself which struck every one present not less with horror than with astonishment.

The second paragraph reads:

“Of Madame L’Espanaye no traces were here seen; but an unusual quantity of soot being observed in the fire-place, a search was made in the chimney, and (horrible to relate!) the; corpse of the daughter, head downward, was dragged therefrom; it having been thus forced up the narrow aperture for a considerable distance. The body was quite warm. Upon examining it, many excoriations were perceived, no doubt occasioned by the violence with which it had been thrust up and disengaged. Upon the face were many severe scratches, and, upon the throat, dark bruises, and deep indentations of finger nails, as if the deceased had been throttled to death.

I truly did have a fun time making this, I got to play with a few different mediums.

Thanks for stoppin’ in!

Peace,

KristyLee

About KristyLee

Hi, my name is KristyLee, I live in sunny Florida. (Yes I do have alligators in my back yard.) I have a severe passion for all things crafty! I love to create and teach card/ craft making. I am a Founding Journey Coach #55 with a paper crafting company called "Fun Stampers Journey." I am also a distributor for "Young Living," I love using and informing others to the benefits of Essential Oils. I have just taken on a new path in my Life Journey. I have signed up to be an Independent Rep for "Agnes & Dora." I think adding fashion to my list of activities is right for me. I have always been interested in Fashion. I believe that fashion and trends coincide with my passion for crafting. I love to make other people feel good, and feel good about themselves. I served in the US Navy, and now a veteran. I have a degree in Medical coding and billing. My personality can be summed up as: funny, quirky, opinionated, creative, loving, stubborn, and loyal. My FSJ website is www.FunStampersJourney.com/KBJ Check me out on Facebook here https://www.facebook.com/kristyleesgems/ Thank you for your visit into my world, and looking at art and fashion through my eyes. May God Bless you and yours! Stay Healthy and Crafty my Friends! And always Enjoy the Journey!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Rue Morgue! at QTR! Art journal page!

  1. IKE says:

    FABULOUS – I love the way you built it all up with the different mediums. Excellent 😀 Thank you for joining us at Quoth The Raven 😀 x

  2. Lady B says:

    This is freakin’ awesome, girl! Love it! Super creative take on the challenge and art journaling!

  3. scrapunzel1 says:

    I really like this. I want to come back & take more time to read the story. I am hurrying through & that isn’t fair to your art or the time you put in it. So, I’ll be back. Can’t wait to read the background story! 🙂

  4. Laura says:

    This is awesome, Kristy! I love the way you put it all together.:)

  5. i dont do straight says:

    This FAB Kristy….. love all your different elements! Thanks for Joining us at Quoth the Raven 🙂

  6. monique says:

    awesome page, love it

  7. Beth P says:

    OMG! Awesome my friend! I hope to get mine done in time for this challenge!
    Hugs,
    Beth

  8. blackdragon says:

    Kristy my friend…this is just totally..inspirational! Wonderful take on our challenge at QTR and what a stunning art journal page.
    Thank you so much for sharing with us.
    much love BDx

Leave a Reply

