REPTILE RAMPAGE! New at Smudgy Antics!

Good Monday morning friends, it is a new challenge week at Smudgy Antics! 

The theme this week is “Reptile Rampage!”

Reptile: 1.) Any various cold-blooded, usually egg-laying vertebrates of the class Reptilia (think snake, lizard, crocodile, turtle, dinosaur, or dragon).
Reptile:  2.) A person being regarded as despicable or treacherous.

Rampage:  Violent or excited behavior that is reckless, uncontrolled, or destructive.

We are asking you to incorporate the spirit of a reptile rampage into your project for the week.  There are several directions you can take this prompt.  You can use an image of a reptile or you can use papers or textures that resemble a reptile’s skin, or in the case of a turtle, its shell.  You can throw caution to the wind and get reckless in the creation of your project by ripping, tearing, and distressing a project almost to the point of destruction while still maintaining an awesome piece.  This theme would be great for art journal pages too.  Show us, through your art, a time where you may have been reckless or on a rampage.  Too much?  How about doing a journal piece or ATC about someone or something you regard as despicable or treacherous?  If it is NOT EVIDENT as to how you used the challenge theme REPTILE RAMPAGE in your project, please explain it in your blog post.

The sky is the limit.  The more creative, the better!  All artistic mediums are accepted as long as a stamped image is used somewhere in your project and you follow the challenge rules which are posted on the left side-bar.  We can’t wait to see your creations!

So for some inspiration here is my DT piece:

I have used “Snake Woman”  courtesy of Smeared Ink! (Follow the link to get yours.)

This digi is a brand new release at Smeared Ink! There are several new releases that have been added to the store! Follow the above link, to check out all the fabulous stamps that are now available!!!!

How did I make this??

Well I found a frame at the thrift shop, painted it with black Gesso, then added my colored image. I used Modeling Paste and added the snakes that I found at Publix (A grocery store.) I taped up my image so I would not get Gesso and Modeling Paste on it. After I placed my snakes and everything was dry, I painted it again with black Gesso, then I added Rubz in blue to the snakes and silver to the outside.

I colored my image with Copics and Prismacolor pencils. I added Tim Holtz crackle paint to the Snake Woman’s flesh. Too bad the photo does not show it well, because in RL it looks really cool!

I hope I have inspired you to come and play the newest challenge at Smudgy Antics! Also swing on over to the challenge blog and take a look at what the other DTs made and our GDT they are truly awesome!

Have you signed up for our 12 days of Creepmas blog hop yet? Click here!

Check out Smeared Ink’s Rubber Club! Click here! That’s right Smeared Ink has rubber again!

Would you like to chat with like minded folks about Art, life, dogs, tattoos, or what ever pop into your head?? Come and visit with us on the Vent!

Thank you for your visit and for your comments! Stay crafty my friends!

Peace,

KristyLee

About KristyLee

Hi, my name is KristyLee, I live in sunny Florida. (Yes I do have alligators in my back yard.) I have a severe passion for all things crafty! I love to create and teach card/ craft making. I am a Founding Journey Coach with a paper crafting company called "Fun Stampers Journey." I am also a distributor for "Young Living," I love using and informing others to the benefits of Essential Oils. I have just taken on a new path in my Life Journey. I have signed up to be an Independent Rep for "Agnes & Dora." I think adding fashion to my list of activities is right for me. I have always been interested in Fashion. I believe that fashion and trends coincide with my passion for crafting. I love to make other people feel good, and feel good about themselves. I served in the US Navy, and now a veteran. I have a degree in Medical coding and billing. My personality can be summed up as: funny, quirky, opinionated, creative, loving, stubborn, and loyal. My FSJ website is www.FunStampersJourney.com/KBJ Check me out on Facebook here https://www.facebook.com/kristyleesgems/ Thank you for your visit into my world, and looking at art and fashion through my eyes. May God Bless you and yours! Stay Healthy and Crafty my Friends! And always Enjoy the Journey!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to REPTILE RAMPAGE! New at Smudgy Antics!

  1. IKE says:

    That is an awesome background Kristy. Love what you did with her skin too – I can see it a bit if I zoom 🙂 Very clever indeed 😀 xxx

  2. Vee Cassidy says:

    This is wonderful work, Kristy very inspirational. That background with the snakes is amazing and she is beautifully coloured. Her skin is very cool. Love, Vee xx

  3. monique says:

    awesome background and great coloring

  4. shell says:

    I love how you have done this piece, those snakes make it look even more fab! Great Job girl xxx

  5. WOW Kristy! Fabulous work on the frame. Absolutley perfect for the amazing image. xxD

Leave a Reply

