Mermaid box, for Delicious Doodles Challenges! With a tut!

At Delicious Doodles Challenges, the challenge is now “Anything but a card.” So for my DT project I hand made a box:

anything-but-a-card--06

The top digi image is called “Mermaid’s Revenge.” (Follow the link to get yours.) She has been colored with Copics, and I added “Velvet” glitter to her and the two sea shells from “Sparkle N Sprinkle”  (Follow the link to check them out.) On the back ground card stock I used a roller stamp from Stampin’ Up! The top also has small sea shells, and blue glass beads. The blue sandy looking stuff is called “Mud Puddles” that I also bought at “Sparkle N Sprinkle”

anything-but-a-card-02

On this side of the box are two drawers that open. In the top bottle cap is “Swimming with the Dolphins”   (Follow the link to get yours) That is also the same digi I use on the side panel. I added the velvet glitter to her too. “Marina” is the mermaid in the bottom bottle cap. I added Crystal Effects to all of the bottle caps.

anything-but-a-card-003

On this side of the box there are two more drawers. On the side panel and on the bottom bottle cap I used “Marina” (Follow the link to get yours.) I added velvet glitter to the “Marina”  on the side panel. The digi next to Marina is called “Seahorses” (Follow the link to get yours.)

anything-but-a-card-005

The mermaid on the side panel is “Maid of the Riverbank” (Follow the link to get yours.) The image on the top bottle cap is “Mermaid’s Revenge.” The mermaid in the lower cap is “Black Pearl” (I could not find it in the shop to give you a link so sorry.)

anything-but-a-card-ch-4

The Mermaid on the panel is “Black Pearl” I added the velvet glitter to her too, the image next to her is “Under Sea corner” (Follow the link to get yours.) I used “Maid of the Riverbank” for the top bottle cap, and “Mermaid’s Revenge.” for the lower bottle cap.

anything-but-a-card-ch-01

Now are you ready to make one too? Here is a tut for ya!

*For the base and top:

2- Chipboard 6×6

4- Kraft cardstock 6×6 Sponge edges (I used TH Distress ink in Vintage Photo)

step-1

Glue your Kraft paper to both sides of the Chipboard.

step-2

I used “Yes” paste then I use a brayer to get out any bubbles.

distressing-edges

* To make the drawers:

8- Cardstock (Of your choice) 5 1/4″  Then you want to score it at: 1 & 4 1/4″ this is on the long part. for the shorter side score it at  3 1/4.”

step-3

You need to cut your corner flaps.

step-4

When your holding your scored paper you will see  scored looking boxes in each corner. So cut on the Right hand side of that box just up to the scored line. Then turn your paper and do the same-thing on all corners.

Adhere the flaps to the sides.

step-5

This here is your drawer. You will do this for a total of 8 times.  Use your favorite glue or tape for the sides, see how I turned the flaps in? I used “Tear-ific Tape” from “Sparkle N Sprinkle.” (I swear  will not use any other taps, love this stuff.) And it comes in different sizes.

drawers

Now we have to wrap each drawer we will need your choice of cardstock and cut it 8 1/2″ by 3 1/4″.  Then score 1 5/8″, 2 3/4″, 5 1/8″, 6 1/4″ wrap around draw and adhere on bottom with “Tear-ific Tape” (your choice of glues.)

wrap

*Cut the following for the drawer fronts:

8- your choice of card stock- 2 1/8″ by 15/16″

8- DSP (I used bubble DSP) 13/16″ by 2″

2-drawers-w-wraps

*Cut the following for the panels:

4- Cardstock color of your choice cut 2″ by  3″ If you wanted to used this first panel as a backing then you cut 1 3/4″ by 2 3/4″ then you can add your image on top of that. I did not make an extra piece, I just put my images on the first panel.

Here is a photo w/ all boxes and the top and bottom attached.

panel

Here are some photos of how to assemble the boxes.

assimbling-drawers-02

assemble-drawers

*Cut the following for the side easel card on top:

1- Cardstock of choice cut 51/2″ by 11″ then you will score your cardstock 5 1/2″, then diagonally.

then I made my own DSP by using a stamp roller but you will choose DSP of choice, and cut it 5 1/4″ by 5 1/4″ then cut for the triangle.

triangle

rolled-paper

You can use what ever you would like for the knobs, I used bottle caps w/ images inside. However, buttons, brads, or what you come up with.

showing-holding

Once your box is assembled and you are ready for your main image, you want to add something like a pearl or maybe a button. I used a blue glass bead. See the one glass bead? That is put there to hold the triangle flap down, so it wont fly open. Then you can decorate the top as you wish.

I hope you enjoyed my box, and I hope you enjoyed my tut. I would love feed  back!

Thank you for stopping by today and thank you for your comments! Stay Crafty my friends!

Peace,

KristyLee

About KristyLee

Hi, my name is KristyLee, I live in sunny Florida. (Yes I do have alligators in my back yard.) I have a severe passion for all things crafty! I love to create and teach card/ craft making. I am a Founding Journey Coach with a paper crafting company called "Fun Stampers Journey." I am also a distributor for "Young Living," I love using and informing others to the benefits of Essential Oils. I have just taken on a new path in my Life Journey. I have signed up to be an Independent Rep for "Agnes & Dora." I think adding fashion to my list of activities is right for me. I have always been interested in Fashion. I believe that fashion and trends coincide with my passion for crafting. I love to make other people feel good, and feel good about themselves. I served in the US Navy, and now a veteran. I have a degree in Medical coding and billing. My personality can be summed up as: funny, quirky, opinionated, creative, loving, stubborn, and loyal. My FSJ website is www.FunStampersJourney.com/KBJ Check me out on Facebook here https://www.facebook.com/kristyleesgems/ Thank you for your visit into my world, and looking at art and fashion through my eyes. May God Bless you and yours! Stay Healthy and Crafty my Friends! And always Enjoy the Journey!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mermaid box, for Delicious Doodles Challenges! With a tut!

  1. IKE says:

    Oh WoWza – totally mindblowing Kristy and utterly gorgeous 😀 xxxxx

  2. Candace says:

    It’s gorgeous, Kristy! Beautiful work!

  3. susan salyer says:

    Oh my stars Kristy this is a master piece wow!wow!wow! yes I do have total love for the cute little mermaids and this box is wonderful I love the bottle caps too awesome art my friend and so amazing in the details.
    hugs
    susan s

  4. Lady Brayton says:

    AMAZING box and fabulous tutorial! You make it look so easy and the step-by-step pictures….especially the pics of the assembly…totally help me a lot! Your box is so detailed and your coloring and embellishments are fantastic! You totally put your heart into this and it shows!!! This would make an awesome gift 🙂

Leave a Reply

