BURNT OFFERINGS Week 2 with SMUDGY ANTICS! With a Mini TUT!

BURNT OFFERINGS Week 2 with SMUDGY ANTICS

Welcome back for week 2 of the fortnight challenge with Smudgy Antics!
The theme for this challenge is
BURNT OFFERINGS.

You may interpret the challenge theme anyway you choose.  For those attempting to use actual flame of some sort please use common sense and have a basin of water nearby as well a fire-extinguisher.  We don’t want any injuries or burnt down homes in the making of your burnt offering projects.

Examples of Burnt Offerings include, but are not limited to, the following:
Burn the edging of your cardstock or a portion of your project.
Use a soot stamping technique.
Use a wood burning tool in some fashion on your project.
Use your heat gun to scorch areas of your project.

Also acceptable, especially for the accident prone folks, are the following:
Use a faux Burnt technique.
Add faux flames to your project.
I’m sure there are other things, but we will let you folks decide what to do.

Here is my DT “Burnt Offering” for the challenge:

Burnt-challenge-8-19-13

I went with “Soot Stamping” and used the rubber stamp set from Smeared Ink’s Rubber Club called “Prints.”

Here is a view of this awesome rubber set, that you can still order from the Smeared Ink’s Rubber Club!

hand-prints-wm-sm

I used my label maker for the senti.

To Soot Stamp requires patience, you need either glossy card-stock or you can use photo paper. You also need a lit candle in a non-breezy room. Because you need to control the flame. The actually touches the paper. But only for a second or it will burn. Let the flame touch the paper and move it in a circular motion.

Soot-Tut-1Soot-Tut-2Soot-Tut-3Once you have your glossy card stock thick’ish with Soot and you have an area large enough to fit your stamp, it’s not time to put your rubber stamp on it.

Soot-Tut-4NO, it does not harm your rubber stamps. Just wash them off with soap and water. Or stamp cleaner and wipe off.

Here is a don’t do:

Soot-Tut-5I have circled the bubble that the flame created because I left it on the paper a second to long. When applying the glossy CS to the flame, watch it closely and let it actually touch just the top of the flame. It is easy to cause bubbles and to actually catch it on fire.

Edit: I forgot to mention that this technique does need to be Sealed. I have heard that some folks use hairspray, however in my opinion hairspray will rub of; it’s a water soluble base, and also does not adhered well to paper ect… (But that is my opinion.) I like to use Krylon’s Crystal Clear acrylic coating. Shown below:

Soot-Stamping-tut-KrylonAnything that resembles this product is fine to use. If you don’t seal your Soot Stamped paper, the soot will rub off and get every where.

Soot stamps can be tedious but it does create some awesome effects!

Burnt-challenge-8-19-13I hope you enjoyed your visit today, and I would love to read what your thoughts are, about this project!

I do hope that you will join us for “Burnt Offerings” at Smudgy Antics Challenge blog.

Click Here to link up!

Click Here to see the DT’s inspirational Burnt Offerings for you!

The winner will receive a $5.00 gift voucher to Smeared Ink.

smeared ink logo

Also don’t forget to check out the Smeared Ink Rubber Club, members can order past sets!

rubber-club

See you at your blog once you link up!

Thank you for your visit and for your comments! Stay Crafty my Friends!

Peace,

KristyLee

I would like to enter the following challenges:

Creative Corner Challenges: Challenge “Wicked- Anything Goes”

About KristyLee

Hi, my name is KristyLee, I live in sunny Florida. (Yes I do have alligators in my back yard.) I have a severe passion for all things crafty! I love to create and teach card/ craft making. I am a Founding Journey Coach #55 with a paper crafting company called "Fun Stampers Journey." I am also a distributor for "Young Living," I love using and informing others to the benefits of Essential Oils. I have just taken on a new path in my Life Journey. I have signed up to be an Independent Rep for "Agnes & Dora." I think adding fashion to my list of activities is right for me. I have always been interested in Fashion. I believe that fashion and trends coincide with my passion for crafting. I love to make other people feel good, and feel good about themselves. I served in the US Navy, and now a veteran. I have a degree in Medical coding and billing. My personality can be summed up as: funny, quirky, opinionated, creative, loving, stubborn, and loyal. My FSJ website is www.FunStampersJourney.com/KBJ Check me out on Facebook here https://www.facebook.com/kristyleesgems/ Thank you for your visit into my world, and looking at art and fashion through my eyes. May God Bless you and yours! Stay Healthy and Crafty my Friends! And always Enjoy the Journey!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to BURNT OFFERINGS Week 2 with SMUDGY ANTICS! With a Mini TUT!

  1. IKE says:

    WoW, WoW, WoW,…. this is amazing Kristy. What a brilliant creation and the soot stamping soooo rocks !!!
    A question – how do you fix the soot to the paper… doesn’t it smudge off ??

    Hugz
    IKE xxxxxxxxxxxx

  2. I love what you have done with this technique, Kristy! I have always wanted to try this technique, but I always forget to try it. Do you set it with hairspray or something, so it doesn’t rub off?

  3. KristyLee says:

    Great questions Ike and Glo, I forgot to add that tit bit of info. Glo I have heard that you can use hair spray, however I don’t like hairspray, I use Crystal Clear Acrylic coating by Krylon. Going to update this post. Thank you both for your questions.
    Peace,
    KristyLee

  4. Croms says:

    awesome Kristy xxx

  5. Very cool! Thanks for the tut kristy! XX

  6. FAbulous project and tut! I never really understood this technique until now, Kristy. Dying to try it. Thanks so much! xxD

  7. Shelley says:

    Wicked Kristy! This is one technique I haven’t tried but I really must give it a go! xxx

  8. susan salyer says:

    OMG this is awesome. you picked my favorite stamp set for one and the candle to burn with is just to cute!!! The project is perfect flawless and I love it..This is brilliant!..captivating!
    hugs
    susan s

  9. Aletha Jane says:

    This is a wonderful art journal piece. Love the burn technique too. Gorgeous!
    Love, ME

  10. sharonsahl says:

    Wonderful, Kristy!

  11. Matney says:

    Love the creepy eerie feel to this when you see those images. Awesome job. hehee, love that fae frog candle.

Leave a Reply

